Scholarship Awards 2015

June 15, 2015


The Raiders Remember Scholarship Fund was established in 2014 as a result of the Raiders Remember Farewell Event for the former Somerset High School building, looking forward to new beginnings and the future of Somerset Berkley Regional High School. The success of the event has made it such that we have built a perpetuating foundation that gives back to Somerset, including scholarships to graduates of SBRHS attending accredited two or four year, degree-granting colleges or universities, including vocational, and technical colleges. We are very proud to award our very first group of scholarships today!


Raiders Remember was founded on a set of core values: loyalty, leadership, legacy, community, extra curricular involvement, personality and presentation. We are inspired by our award winners, and strongly believe that they exemplify the Raider spirit. We truly believe they ultimately will preserve the Raiders Remember culture and core values.


The application process consisted of the submittal of a paper application and transcript, along with an essay, of which the applicants had to “Describe a positive aspect of SBRHS and discuss how it has impacted [their] experience as a member of the community.” The top candidates were then interviewed, and the top two candidates were chosen. In fact, the committee felt so strongly about the performance of the interviews that we unanimously voted to award them with a $500 Honorable Mention Scholarship. We are very proud to be able to give back to these students. They did a tremendous job.


On behalf of the Raiders Remember Committee, we are honored to award the two $2,500 Raiders Remember Scholarship winners, and the five $500 Honorable Mention Award Winners for their outstanding achievements and aspirations. They are in the very first group of award recipients!


We would like to thank the student winners for being such an inspiration, and wish them best of luck! We look forward to seeing what their amazing future holds!


Raiders Remember Scholarship Winners ($2500 each):
Amanda Holewiak, Maine Maritime Academy
Sydney Chase, Framingham State University

Raiders Remember Scholarship Honorable Mention Winners ($500 each):
Lily Fortier, Roger William’s University
Baila Mir, UMASS Boston
Emma Botelho, UMASS Lowell
Mackenzie Johnson, Rhode Island College
Marisa DaSilva, UMASS Amherst