Scholarship Awards 2017

June 7, 2017

Meeting these students is an inspiration every single year. It is always an honor to be part of the scholarship award process for Raiders Remember. It has been one of the most rewarding experiences I’ve had, year after year. Thanks to the students for being such an inspiration!

Congrats to the Raiders Remember Scholarship winners: Cameron Filipe and Alyssa Soares!

Congrats to the Raiders Remember Honorable Mention Award winners: Emily Canuel, Grace Goodwin, and Sydney Lavoie!

Kim Duddy Michaud (Raiders Remember), Grace Goodwin (honorable mention), Sydney Lavoie (honorable mention), Emily Canuel (honorable mention), Cameron Filipe (scholarship winner), Holly McNamara (Raiders Remember) and Alyssa Soares (scholarship winner)


The Raiders Remember Scholarship Fund was established in 2014 as a result of the Raiders Remember Farewell Event for the former Somerset High School building, looking forward to new beginnings and the future of Somerset Berkley Regional High School. The success of the event has made it such that we have built a perpetuating foundation that gives back to Somerset, including scholarships to graduates of SBRHS attending accredited two or four-year, degree-granting colleges or universities, including vocational, and technical colleges.


Raiders Remember was founded on a set of core values: loyalty, leadership, legacy, community, extra curricular involvement, personality and presentation. We are inspired by our award winners, and strongly believe that they exemplify the Raider spirit. We truly believe they ultimately will preserve the Raiders Remember culture and core values.


The application process consisted of the submittal of a paper application and transcript, along with an essay, of which the applicants had to “Describe a positive aspect of SBRHS and discuss how it has impacted [their] experience as a member of the community.” The top candidates were then interviewed, and the top two candidates were chosen. In fact, the committee felt so strongly about the performance of the interviews that we unanimously voted to award the 3 runner-ups with a $500 Honorable Mention Scholarship. We are very proud to be able to give back to these students. They did a tremendous job.


We would like to thank the student winners for being such an inspiration, and wish them best of luck! We look forward to seeing what their amazing future holds!


On behalf of the Raiders Remember Committee, I am honored to award the two $2,500 Raiders Remember Scholarship winners, and the three $500 Honorable Mention Award Winners for their outstanding achievements and aspirations.


Raiders Remember Scholarship Winners ($2,500 each):

Cameron Filipe, University of New Haven; Alyssa Soares, Mass College of Pharmacy


Raiders Remember Scholarship Honorable Mention Winners ($500 each):
Emily Canuel, URI; Grace Goodwin, Bridgewater State University; Sydney Lavoie, Fairfield University


Thank you. All the best!

Holly McNamara
Executive Chair, Raiders Remember